Long overdue


It’s been a while since I’ve updated the blog. A lot has happened in the past 6 months, and I’ll try to give a (probably not very brief) summary here. Simon turned 3 the last time that I posted. Like any other 3-year old, Simon likes to give his Mama and Daddy a run for our money. He is sassy and likely the most stubborn person I’ve ever met. But he makes up for it with the sweetest snuggles, and smiles that light up a room. Simon loves his big brother, and imitates pretty much everything he does.

Ezekiel is almost 7. Just one month to go!! He is in first grade, and doing awesome. His teacher is a great fit for him. He is learning math, his reading is getting smoother every day, and he spouts off random science facts every once in a while that take us by surprise. Ezekiel is still an incredible big brother. He has a lot of grace for Simon’s 3-year old antics. And for the most part, he’s a great role model and loves finding new games to play with Simon.

Dave has exciting news – he was recently accepted into the Master’s of Social Work program at a local university here! Dave’s Bachelor’s degree was in social work, as well. He’s been thinking more lately about what his future holds, and realized landscaping wasn’t going to be something his body would be able to do forever. His goal is to eventually become a school social worker (preferably in an elementary school), and still be able to garden and do some landscaping in the summer. He has been a substitute paraprofessional (teacher’s aide) again this winter in a kindergarten room, and has loved being with that age group again. He has some pretty hilarious stories every day.

My work has been going well. I’ve been traveling for some training on a new application that I’ll be working with. My first two trainings were in Atlanta, and as hard as it was to be away from my family, it was a good training and I got to see my very good friend Robin while I was down there. My next training is mid-March in Raleigh NC. It’s my last work trip for a while, and I’m looking forward to being home again. I’m lucky to work with some great people, and in a place where decisions I make and the work I do really make a difference.

This winter in Minnesota has been one of our crazier ones. We went out to my parents’ house yesterday. In all of my growing up years, I’ve never seen so much snow out at their house. The boys and I climbed the snow pile by their driveway, and the high point was at least 10 feet off the ground. Today, the temps were warm, and it felt great to be out chopping ice on the driveway, and near the downspouts to get water away from the house foundation. I think I’ll be feeling it in my muscles tomorrow!

20140309-210706.jpg

20140309-210737.jpg

20140309-210837.jpg

20140309-210920.jpg

20140309-210951.jpg

20140309-211026.jpg

20140309-211043.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cecelia
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 22:59:01

    Those pictures of the boys in costume are PRECIOUS! And oh, the valentines are pretty darn precious too. What a lovely, adorable family you have. Congrats to Dave! We’ll have to talk about that the next time I randomly run into him in St. Pete. I have an MSW. A very versatile degree.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
