Road Tripping


Last month, we drove up to Duluth to ride a train, visit my brother and sister-in-law, and have fun as a family. Our niece’s boyfriend manages a waterpark there, and we had a blast staying there and playing together in the water.

Rewind to the drive up. My sister and her husband drove the boys up to meet me at a mall closer to my work, so that we could head up to Duluth from there. We decided to eat supper at the mall to kill time to avoid sitting in traffic. We ate pizza. Greasy pizza. Mistake #1.

We got going in the car, and turned on a movie for the boys to watch on a portable DVD player. They were silent for the first hour, just watching the movie. Dave and I remarked to each other about “how awesome it is when the kids are quiet. We need to do this ‘movie-watching in the car’ more often”. Wrong. Mistake #2.

Earlier that day, my coworker mentioned some motion sickness bands she bought for her daughters at a drug store, reminding me that Simon has been car sick in the past. I told her I planned to buy some after work. And then forgot. Mistake #3.

About an hour into our drive, no less than 5 minutes after making the “quiet” comment, I heard a familiar sound come from Simon. Not a good sound. I turned around and asked, ” Are you okay, baby?” He shook his head no at me, with a very sad and pitiful look on his face. I asked him, “Does your tummy hurt?” And he nodded his head with the same look on his face. Warning: the next few sentences are not for the faint of stomach. A minute later, he started puking. And puking and puking and puking. The poor baby just couldn’t stop, and since he was in his car seat, he couldn’t even lean over. It just ran over his chin. And all over him, and every single crevice of his car seat. The only saving grace was that it somehow didn’t overflow onto our cloth seats.

We were a half mile away from the next highway exit, so Dave turned into the first gas station we could see. Both Eze and I were doing everything we could to keep our dinners in our bellies, the smell was so awful. We jumped out of the car as soon as it was parked, and I pretended to attempt to help Dave peel Simon’s clothes off his body. Thank God we made a pact pre-kids that he was in charge of pukes, while I was in charge of excessive poo messes. I can’t handle vomit. Dave waved me away.

I grabbed the kids’ pajamas from the trunk of the car, and walked them in, Simon wearing only a diaper and shoes. The station attendant looked at me with knowing sympathy in her eyes. I got the boys changed, and played with them on the sidewalk while Dave grabbed a tub of wipes and went to town on the car seat. I was impressed.

We made it to Duluth eventually that night, and despite the ordeal on the way up, and my neck hurting like the dickens (I guess my neck injury from my car accident in February does not like hotel beds), we had a wonderful time up in Duluth. We got all kinds of goodies at the waterpark hotel, and swam to our hearts’ content. We spent an evening with my brother and his wife, and our niece chatting. At one point, Auntie Amanda heard the ice cream truck, and grabbed Eze’s hand to sprint for a treat. The boys were in heaven. And the next day, we spent some time in Canal Park eating delicious food, and buying souvenirs. The boys saw a couple of ships, too.

Oh, and Simon got both Dramamine and motion sickness bands for the drive home. And all was well.

My hero

My hero

Super hero poses (playing while Daddy cleans up the car seat)

Super hero poses (playing while Daddy cleans up the car seat)

Eze, master of the big scary water bucket

Eze, master of the big scary water bucket

Eze chillaxing in the vortex pool

Eze chillaxing in the vortex pool

The crazy Ribars with a very kind train conductor

The crazy Ribars with a very kind train conductor

Mama and big boy Simon on the train!

Mama and big boy Simon on the train!

Web shooter hands on the train

Web shooter hands on the train

Cool dude. Cool shades.

Cool dude. Cool shades.

Ice cream treats!!!

Ice cream treats!!!

Eze and his buddy, Tiki Tom

Eze and his buddy, Tiki Tom

Eze's souvenir - a super cute harmonica trumpet

Eze’s souvenir – a super cute harmonica trumpet

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
