Ioway


I loved our weekend. We headed down to God’s Country (aka Northwest IA) to celebrate my cousin’s son, Jacob’s graduation.  The boys got to meet a one-month old calf being bottle fed by my cousin’s daughter, Emma, since the calf’s mama died this spring. Her name (the calf) is Ellie. Simon was fascinated with the poop, and the “tinky mell” (stinky smell). Ezekiel desperately wanted to get close enough to pet her, but his little body must exude too much excitement, because she was jumpy around him. Ezekiel, however, DID get to pick up some kitties and carry them around (poor kitties), and he thoroughly enjoyed that. Ezekiel proposed to Emma (yep, his second cousin) through some notes at church this morning. That boy can’t help but love blonde hair, blue eyes, and pretty smiles. Simon, in the meantime, moo’ed at all of the cows he saw, and commented on nearly every car we saw this weekend.

This part of Iowa is where I was born, and where my mom’s family lives. We spent A LOT of time there throughout my childhood, and I was excited to show the boys the beauty and peace there. They loved it. We didn’t even have time to get over to my aunt’s farm, which would have absolutely blown their minds. Next time, I guess. Dave and I enjoyed wine tasting, good conversation, and relaxing at a fairly new B&B just down the gravel road from the family farms.

We did get to go to the church my mom’s family attends. Where my parents were married. Where I spent many Sundays staring out the stained glass windows, counting the circles in the ceiling tiles, watching the fans spin, chewing gum my gran would sneak to us when we got antsy, and writing notes to my sisters while we were supposed to be listening to the sermon. I love that church; it always smells the same, the faces are familiar and smiling, and it holds so many memories for me. When we were sitting in the sermon, Eze stared around the sanctuary with a smile on his face and whispered, “MOM! I’ve never been in this church before!!”

Toward the end of our trip, my mom headed over to my gran’s house to pick up her photo albums and bring them to her apartment. My gran moved out of her house 7 years ago, and it was strange and kind of comforting to walk in there and still see mostly everything the way she left it when she moved out. There were coupons sitting on the counter from way back then. The toys we played with when we were kids were still in the closets. Pictures of the way we all looked 7+ years ago still sitting in frames on shelves all around the house. I took pictures of anything that brought back memories for me. So that means I took lots of pictures.

Sir Ezekiel decided to kick his flip flop off at the B&B. It landed in the gutter, so he and Uncle Rich fished it down.

Sir Ezekiel decided to kick his flip flop off at the B&B. It landed in the gutter, so he and Uncle Rich fished it down.

Even sleepy, Si doesn't give up a chance to play with cars.

Even sleepy, Si doesn’t give up a chance to play with cars.

Grandpa and Grandma's house.

Grandpa and Grandma’s house.

The living room. And where all of us cousins would plop our sleeping bags for a great big slumber party.

The living room. And where all of us cousins would plop our sleeping bags for a great big slumber party.

Old pictures

Old pictures

The kitchen where I spent lots of time snitching junk food and twirling on the spinny chairs.

The kitchen where I spent lots of time snitching junk food and twirling on the spinny chairs.

Gran's view from the kitchen.

Gran’s view from the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,630 hits
