Updates


We’re still here – alive and kicking! Learning how to be a family of 4 has been harder than we’d anticipated. Lots of things have fallen off of the radar – the blog, spending time with friends, exercise, my willpower to eat healthy foods…

It’s been six months. I think we only realized that when our social worker called to schedule our six month post-placement visit. It feels like it’s gone fast and achingly slow all at the same time. I guess I thought by six months, Simon would be sleeping through the night, and our attachment would really be strong. When will I learn to go with the flow, and keep my expectations out of it?

We do have our good nights with Si guy, and we feel incredibly refreshed after those good nights’ of sleep. And he is a silly, fun little boy sometimes, and his attachment with us really is getting better week by week. It’s just hard sometimes to be patient, and to allow those bonds to grow in their own time. I think it’s especially hard when you have a two-year old whose natural instinct is to practice his independence and autonomy, and at the same time we’re trying to draw him in and teach him to be dependent on us for his needs and love.

His language is astounding. He’d prefer to talk about cars, parking cars, buckling and unbuckling seat belts in the car, who drives cars or vans or trucks, and more car talk. And he’s mimicking pretty much everything his big brother says. Yesterday my parents dropped by to drop off some supplies they’d gotten from Cost.co. Simon ran outside yelling their names, and asked my dad, “Baby ride van??” (He loves to ride in their van). My dad answered, “No, you need to stay home with Mommy and Daddy”. Simon replied, “Oh come on!” (in a perfect 2-going-on-6-going-on-13 voice). He also stomps off to his room and rolls his eyes with all of the attitude of a teenager when he gets sent to his room for making naughty choices. (Again, something he has seen his brother do a time or two). Oh boy, we are in for a world of trouble with these two!

He still loves hearing Gangnam Style on the radio or my phone and will yell, “Gangnam!!” and start dancing when it comes on. He tries to get us to come into his room every night by yelling, “Tummy hurt! Tummy hurt NOW!” When I walk in the door after work each evening, he yells, “MOMMY!!!!!!” and runs to give me the biggest hug and pats on the back. It is my very most favorite part of my day. Every day. He has already learned how to apologize when he’s made a bad choice, “I sowwy, Mommy”. I swear the kid has some weird kind of radar – if I’m sneaking candy or chocolate in the other room, “Mommy??? Doin’? Chocwat? Canny?” Or the moment I’ve fallen asleep for a weekend nap, he wakes up. And he is the captain of stating the obvious, which I know is his two-year old way of making sense of his world. He loves to walk around telling people what they are looking at, “Mommy. Daddy sit on chay-oh (chair)”. As if I hadn’t noticed Dave sitting in the chair across from me at the dinner table.

Stick 'em up.

Stick ’em up.

Thanks for the awesome shirts, Grammy and Grampy!

Thanks for the awesome shirts, Grammy and Grampy!

Ezekiel made a fruit salad FEAST for us the other night.

Ezekiel made a fruit salad FEAST for us the other night.

April snow. I've never wanted to move away from Minnesota more than I do this month.

April snow. I’ve never wanted to move away from Minnesota more than I do this month.

Snow day = jammies day!

Snow day = jammies day!

Self portrait at the dentist office.

Self portrait at the dentist office.

Eze has 4 loose teeth, but has yet to lose one. He had a great report from Dr. Jenny!

Eze has 4 loose teeth, but has yet to lose one. He had a great report from Dr. Jenny!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marla McIntyre
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 21:44:24

    You are Dave are both such inspirations for me!! I can not wait to meet my newest cousin. Just hoping for time this summer…summer…hmmm, think we will have a summer!? Keep your head up, you are amazing and doing a great job!! If nothing else fails, it appears Eze has the corner made on fruit salad for dinner when you need a night off!! :o) Loves to all my favorite Ribar’s! Marla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,774 hits
