Catch Up


Life is finally settling back down now that the accident is behind us, and things have been taken care of with insurance. My neck is feeling almost 100% better, which makes life easier for all of us. It was tough last weekend not being able to do much at all for the boys, or help Dave. I’m thankful that we live close to family who jumps in to help whenever we need it. I don’t know how we would do it otherwise.

On Thursday, Dave and I went car shopping, and while we didn’t plan to buy a car that same day, that’s exactly what we did! We got a great deal on a Toyota Camry. I really wanted to go with all-wheel drive again, since that’s what we had with the Outback, but my desire to pay less for my commute to work in gas prices won out. Plus, we hear so many amazing things from other Camry owners about the reliability of these cars; we felt we couldn’t go wrong.

It’s been a rough few months for us. I’m trying to remember to focus on the amazing blessings we have in our life, rather than the series of frustratingly bad things we’ve experienced over the past few months. Having this accident threw all of us for a loop, especially Simon. He is crazy for cars, so the day that Mommy didn’t drive her car home from work was a very big deal. And then when we had to get a new car, new car seat, etc, it threw him off even more. He’s really had a rough week and weekend. Plus, today he slept far more than normal, was unbelievably crabby and whiny, and topped it off with throwing up his dinner at the table. (After having Ezekiel who has vomited twice in the four years we’ve had him, having one who throws up at least once a month is tough! I don’t handle vomit all that well. I tend to jump back in horror when it happens. Poor baby).

In all of the madness, I have a hard time focusing on the fun and silly things our boys are doing, and my patience levels plummet. But seriously? I’m the luckiest mom. Simon’s language is incredible, and I love that he still remembers some of the Korean that he spoke when we adopted him, and will mix in English with Korean. Adorable. And Eze’s reading and writing skills are out of this world. The things that he writes about crack me up. It usually has something to do with Mine.craft or Gangnam.Style. Today, his sweet side came out and all on his own, he wrote a letter for his auntie who broke her ankle. I can’t wait to mail it to her.

The next three weeks are filled with lots of responsibilities for me at work, and then at the end of March we are heading down to Columbia, MO to visit one of my favorite people – my Ali! We are going to hit Legoland while we are down there, and I’m keeping my mind focused on the fun that weekend will bring!

Today when Simon wouldn't stop crying after nap time, I asked him if he wanted to "Ah boo bah" (be carried in the carrier). His eyes lit up and he spent a good hour snuggled in there.

Today when Simon wouldn’t stop crying after nap time, I asked him if he wanted to “Ah boo bah” (be carried in the carrier). His eyes lit up and he spent a good hour snuggled in there.

"My dad can kiss. My dad can give me a hug. My dad is a rox star. My dad can show Star Pride".

“My dad can kiss. My dad can give me a hug. My dad is a rox star. My dad can show Star Pride”.

Simon wearing sunglasses the best way they fit!

Simon wearing sunglasses the best way they fit!

"My parents have told me 100 times to not toot". (Plus a picture of a toot).

“My parents have told me 100 times to not toot”. (Plus a picture of a toot).

Simon asks often for his "Ha mae ah pants" - these are the pants that he wore the day we adopted him, and he loves to talk about Ha mae ah when he wears them.

Simon asks often for his “Ha mae ah pants” – these are the pants that he wore the day we adopted him, and he loves to talk about Ha mae ah (his foster mom) when he wears them.

Simon put his own coat on one night (it's upside down).

Simon put his own coat on one night (it’s upside down).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
