Away With You, Sickness!


Simon had his most miserable cold yet for the past couple of weeks. I know these colds and coughs will come as Simon continues to be introduced to new germs over here. I guess I just have to think of it as building up his immunity?! It’s been really tough because he really pushes away from me when he is sick. He wants Dave all the time, which makes sense since Dave is the one home with him all day. I kind of wonder if he has a harder time attaching with me as his mama, too. I know he misses his foster mama every day. I just keep pursuing him as I pursued his big brother, and kissing on him and loving on him.

Tuesday night, I got home from work and saw Simon’s bright smiling face standing at the top of the stairs. He was yelling, “Mommy!!! Mommy!” Oh man, that did my heart good. And all night, we played tickle fights, and peek-a-boo, and patty cake, and giggled together. I love nights like those. It helps me see the light at the end of a tough tunnel.

Simon generously passed along his cold to the rest of us.

Simon generously passed along his cold to the rest of us.

Sick baby

Sick baby

Gus the Pillow Thief

Gus the Pillow Thief

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
