Bullet Train


I feel like life is moving along at the pace of a bullet train these days. Between working, the holiday season and all the fun busyness all that entails, and two incredibly busy little boys, my tail is getting a thorough kicking. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I LOVE being a mama two these two. Today, we had a welcomed snow day. We got 6+ inches of snow over the course of the weekend, and were in a blizzard warning for part of our day today. We just hung out and did things as a little family of 4. We did do a bit of sledding with my sister and her family in the afternoon. It was one of those days that had its moments of insanity and frustration, but when I think back, was a blissful day that makes me very thankful for my life and everything in it.

This weekend, Ezekiel and I went on a date – just the two of us. My mom watched Simon (he loves her – I think in some ways she reminds him of Ha-mae, they are close to the same age too, I think), and Dave worked while Eze and I enjoyed lunch and a movie together. I even wore a dress, per his request 🙂 He told Dave as he was going to bed that night, “I had so much fun today, Dad!” His attitude has been great, too. He’s been going with the flow, even as we’re still trying to figure out how to be parents to two boys. And today, Dave accidentally got snow down Eze’s shirt/coat more than once. Each time Ezekiel would just smile and say in an exasperated tone, “Why in the world does that keep happening to me?!”

Simon continues to have more and more words for us all the time. When Dave got his snow boots on him Friday after the first of the snow fell, he kept saying, “Cool! Cool, cool, cool!” He thought the snow was lots of fun, although at one point, he bent down and picked up some snow to eat. However, he grabbed some dirt at the same time and got that in his mouth. He kept gagging until he finally worked it out, but then kept trying to wipe his tongue off with the dirt-covered mitten. Poor guy. Daddy finally got him all fixed up. Sledding today was not Simon’s most favorite activity, but we did get him to go down the hill with us a couple of times. His favorite thing is still to say each of our names and point to each of us.

Ezekiel’s vocabulary continues to astound us as well. I swear the boy remembers every word and story he’s ever been told. He asked me to tell him the story of the time I saw Santa’s boot when I was a little girl (I may have embellished a story about when my sisters and I had a sleepover together one Christmas Eve to try to catch our parents setting our gifts out). I couldn’t believe that a year later, he is the one who remembered the details of my story, and kept correcting me. He is also learning about fact and fiction at school right now. The other day on the way to school, he told me, “Mom, I’m non-fiction real”. I told him, “That’s right, Ez, you are non-fiction!” He answered, “No wait, Mom. I’m fiction fake. Ha ha ha ha ha!!!” He also used the words “cumbersome” and “flabbergasted” in the right context a few weeks back. Thanks PBS and Word.Girl.

Both of these boys make me laugh many many times throughout my days. I’m so thankful for the joy they both bring to our family.

Simon "borrowing" some crackers from his cousin Owen.

Simon “borrowing” some raisins from his cousin Owen.

Christmas Tree shopping!

Christmas Tree shopping!

A typical picture of my boys in the morning. Fairly certain Simon could go for a cup of coffee before anyone speaks to him when he wakes up.

A typical picture of my boys in the morning. Fairly certain Simon could go for a cup of coffee before anyone speaks to him when he wakes up. Ezekiel sometimes reminds me of Will Ferrell in Elf.

Decorating our beautiful tree!

Decorating our beautiful tree!

This was how Simon felt about decorating the tree today.

This was how Simon felt about decorating the tree today.

Eze wrote this note the other day. I could go for no more cklen up (clean up).

Eze wrote this note the other day. I could go for no more cklen up (clean up).

Dapper

Dapper

Sledding! A rare short of Simon smiling during our fun in the snow.

Sledding! A rare shot of Simon smiling during our fun in the snow.

Eze + Mama Date!

Eze + Mama Date!

Bless this mama's heart!

Bless this mama’s heart!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
