Gobble Thanks


I feel overwhelmed with gratitude as I reflect on how much I am thankful for this Thanksgiving. I get to hug and snuggle all of my boys on this beautiful Thanksgiving day. I have a perma-grin going here, I’m thrilled that we were able to bring Simon home when we did. My biggest source of thankfulness is always for my sons’ birth families. I am so thankful to them for making the choices they did, so we were able to create our amazing little family. And always on my mind these days is Simon’s foster family who love him deeply and took such great care of him for 2 years of his life. The fact that they can communicate with us through this blog fills my heart with happiness. They loved seeing Simon’s English words progressing, and we are trying to help him retain as much of his Korean words as we can. It’s such an important part of his life, and is such a comfort to him when we speak to him in what little Korean we know. When he is naming off the people in our family, he often includes “Ha-mae” in the people that he counts as family. Simon’s foster mom will always be a part of our family, and we thank God for her every day.

I’m thankful that Ezekiel’s heart was so ready and accepting of his baby brother. We prayed hard while we waited for Simon that our boys would love each other, and bond quickly. That prayer was answered with a great big yes. Ezekiel is such an amazing big brother. I see much of my brother Nate in Ezekiel. He is a leader, and protective of his brother (even if he is Simon’s biggest source of grief some days!). Sure there have been plenty of times that he has struggled with this huge change in his life, but he remains my sparkly, joy-filled boy. His teacher tells us he’s the life of the party at school, and I think that’s the perfect way to describe him at home, too.

And of course, there is my Dave. My favorite man. He has proven himself as a stellar stay-at-home-dad in these past few weeks, and every day that I get to go to work and do work that I truly love, I’m grateful for Dave. I got home from work last night and told him, “I got to learn how to create navigators and workspaces and widgets today in the new program. It was so fun!” He grinned at me, told me I’m his favorite little nerd. I can’t think of anyone better to teach our boys how to treat ladies (and everyone else) right, to throw a football, to plant beautiful flowers, to play the guitar, to love life.

There are many things to be thankful for in our lives – incredible family, authentic and uplifting friends, good health, as much food as we need to get us through each day (and then some), a warm house for these upcoming winter months, a job to help us pay for the things we need and want, sleep (thank you, Simon for sleeping through the night for the past 2 nights!), hot tea with honey and milk, dance parties in our living room, being able to love God and talk freely with our boys about HIs love for us and what faith is all about, little hands that pat me on the back when I’m getting a Simon hug, hearing Ezekiel tell me, “This is causing a ruckus!”.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,772 hits
