One Of Those Days…


This is a really long story about something that probably isn’t as dramatic as it felt in my sleep-deprived brain…

Yesterday was one of those days that I couldn’t have orchestrated any crazier if I tried.  Back up to Monday night, Dave and I were sitting on the couch after a rough evening of trying to get Mr Simon down to sleep. Gus was in the living room with us, after spending lots of time outside (we thought he was just enjoying the last of the nice weather we’ve been having lately). Suddenly Gus tooted loudly, he looked up at Dave when he exclaimed, “Gus!!” and then burped at Dave. I almost fell off the couch laughing.

The next morning, Gus wanted to go outside as soon as he woke up. He didn’t eat his breakfast, and just kept going outside. I thought that was odd, so as soon as it was light, I followed him to see what in the heck he was doing out there. He was over by our compost bin chomping on something. I scolded him and sent him inside. I called my Ali to complain about how tired I was, how little Simon slept the night before, and about Gus – these days he’s almost more work than the boys. Waking Simon up, barking like a maniac, and chewing stuffed animals. I thought that was as bad as it could get. I vowed that later in the day, I’d go out to my parents’ house to get the extra kennel we have for him.

We got off the phone, and I decided to take her advice and go outside with Simon. Gus came out with us, and I decided to walk back to the compost bin to see if there was anything else I could clean up to stop Gus from munching on it. As soon as we got around the corner, Gus spotted 2 squirrels. Suddenly, he sprinted after one of them, and got it in his mouth. I tried not to freak out and prayed it would get away from Gus. No such luck. Gus clamped his jaws down on it and ran into the neighbor’s backyard while shaking it. By this point, I was screaming at Gus to drop it. I finally got him away from it, and got him back into our house. I got Simon strapped in the Ergo and went back to the neighbor’s backyard to see the squirrel. At one point I looked up at their dining room window, and saw that a bunch of their retired friends were over having breakfast and visiting with them. Two ladies looked out at me with horrified looks on their faces. I waved and mouthed “Sorry!”

The squirrel was indeed dead, so I went back to the garage to find a shovel (if only it had happened in our backyard, I would have saved it for when Dave got home!). I tried getting up the courage to scoop up the squirrel with the shovel, but kept freaking out. I can’t imagine what the party inside my neighbors’ house thought of me. Finally, I went back to the garage and got a long pole. I poked it a few times and it didn’t move, so I tried again with the shovel. The darn thing kept rolling away. So so so gross. I finally propped it against something else and got it scooped up.

I tried to think of what to dump it in, because the garbage bin was empty. I didn’t want the thing in the bottom of the bin. So I tried to prop open a garbage bag to dump it into. Of course, it kept rolling off the shovel onto the driveway. I thought about just leaving it there, but the mail lady hadn’t come yet. I didn’t want a dead squirrel sitting in the driveway when she delivered the mail. That seems ominous. I came up with a great plan to prop the large plastic bag inside the garbage bin, and lifted the squirrel to drop it in. It promptly fell out of the bag, into the bottom of the bin. I shut the lid, and decided I was done with it.

I can laugh about it today, now that I had a better night of sleep. Poor Dave tried his hardest not to laugh and failed when I called to tell him about it yesterday. Today has been a better day (knock on wood), and Eze is off the rest of this week for a Minnesota-wide school break. It should be interesting having both boys to myself on Thursday and Friday! Monday I start a new job, so life will get even more challenging again, I’m sure.

When Gus was still only on strike 2, not strike 77.

Edited to add: I went outside yesterday afternoon to apologize to my neighbors for the mayhem. They are not dog people, but they just laughed it off. Then I felt Eze tug on my pant leg. I looked down, and Gus had pooped on the property line. *sigh*

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. eric
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 18:40:45

    This is Eric. Really funny story and weird I liked the part with the squirrel
    Merry Christmas I mean happy Halloween. Did you like my mario costume?
    Super mario bros 2 story it is a fun game I got to world 6 you can play as luigi
    It’s really fun world 1-1 is easy very easy and world 1-2 is easy I wonder what
    It’s like to be mario.
    I have lots of fun at school ha ha ha ja ja ja ja. I do not know why I did that
    I can’t wait till Halloween
    Hgvjhbhjcdgcgfgcvfg sorry I did that!! I think I’m done now bless your face
    If you sneeze bless you toby games!!!!!!!!! Eric games!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,630 hits
