Yay Sleep!


The last two nights, I’ve been able to sleep fairly soundly from 9 pm to 5 or 5:30 am. Yay! It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep will do. Now to remember how to muddle through on little sleep for the next few months… Because today we get SIMON!!!!!! I can’t believe the day is finally here. We have our gifts for the foster family and agency workers packaged and ready, questions written out (thanks, Ali!), baby/toddler stuff unpacked and ready, and butterflies in stomachs. T-minus 8.5 hours until we meet him. 8.5 hours???? Why in the world am I awake so early? I better find something to keep me occupied this morning.

Yesterday, we woke up and had a wonderful breakfast at our hotel (seriously, I highly recommend Fraser Place Central – it’s been awesome to stay here – minus the rock hard, and I mean rock.hard, bed). We then met up with our Holt tour guide, Sue (not sure about the spelling there, but that’s what her name sounded like!) in the hotel lobby at 9:30 am. We set off on our adventure with her, and rode the metro to Gyeongbokgung Palace. As we were walking up the metro stairs, we could hear the drum beat start for the changing of the guards. We started running, and got there in time to watch most of the processional of the changing of the guard. SO cool.

We then headed back into the museum on the palace grounds and wandered around there until our English tour started up at 11. Our tour guide was amazing. She knew so much of the history of the kings and the palace, and her English was great. After the tour was finished, Sue walked us over to the back of the palace grounds where we could go out and see the Blue House, which is the equivalent to our White House. There were Secret Service guys around and everything, it was very cool.

We headed back out of the palace, and walked over to Insadong, the shopping area we had visited with Dwight and Lori on Tuesday. We even ate at the same restaurant we had eaten at on Tuesday 🙂 We bought a couple of other items we’d missed the other day, and then headed over to Myeongdong, and the Namdaemoon shopping area (where we’d also gone with Dwight and Lori the other day – they know exactly where to take visitors!). This time, we were lucky to find the soccer jersey we’d been trying to find earlier in the week. (We like to give our boys gifts from their birth countries on their annual Adoption Days. Ezekiel has a soccer jersey from PI for when he’s older, so Dave insisted that Simon have one too 🙂 ).

We debated heading over to Seoul Tower, but I knew I’d need some down time, so we decided to head back to the hotel. We parted ways with Sue, and thanked her profusely for the tour. She was so much fun to get to know, and easy to be around. We gave her a gift of an “I [heart] MN” tee shirt, and she seemed to like the gift. As we headed back to the hotel, we stopped at Cafe Droptop (thanks for the tip, Dustin!), and ordered a pastry that was over-the-top delectable – a honey butter crunchy ball. Drool. I’m sure we’ll order another one of those before it’s time for us to head home. I didn’t even take a picture, we ate it so thoroughly and quickly!

As we got back to the hotel, I came down with a nasty migraine. It kept getting worse, so Dave headed down and got some pain reliever from the front desk, and found some Gator.ade at the Seven-Eleven across the street from our hotel. None of it really helped, so we ordered room service and I went to sleep really early. We Skyped with Ezekiel before officially hitting the hay, and my mom felt bad for me. She gets migraines too, so she knows how hard that is, and especially to not have the meds with me to overcome the migraine. Love you, Mamasita!

I still had a dull headache when I woke up this morning, and then realized I haven’t been wearing my glasses at all this week. I only have to wear them at work when I’m back home, but I think I’ll rock them a bit more here to try and prevent another migraine.

A delicious fruit that I figured out how to peel, but then couldn’t figure out how to eat, so I just sucked the juice out of it 🙂 Who can name this fruit?

A gate in the metro station that promises if you walk under it, that you’ll stay young forever!

Baby royal wear!

A cool antique royal automobile

Our tour guide – later in the tour she laughingly said, “Don’t included me in your pictures, I always have my mouth open”

The party pavilion

The Blue House!

Gyeongbokgung Palace

One of the palace guards

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Felicity
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 18:10:18

    Same palace we went to – we didn’t get the sneak-peek of the Blue House, though! I skipped the Seoul Tower because of fatigue/overstimulation, too. And Insadong was GREAT for shopping. We went to the same restaurant twice, too.

    Reply

  2. renee
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 18:55:35

    Can’t wait to see the next photos since they will include photos of SIMON!!!!!! Enjoy this special day!

    Reply

  3. melibeaudoin
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 19:27:21

    I think it’s a dragon fruit..

    Reply

  4. Kristine
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 22:49:17

    RAMBUTAN!!!

    Reply

  5. Robyn
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 11:04:20

    I think the fruit is lychee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,772 hits
