Seoul Coughing


Our flight was great – I’m wishing I could fly Korean Air every time I fly anywhere! Eze and my sister’s family dropped us off Sunday morning, and Ezekiel got to spend the day with them until my parents were back from Iowa. My sister wrote this to us:

I just wanted to put in a quick note that your oldest son was awesome and super well behaved all day. No timeouts, no “oh bummers,” he only would need one warning and he was back on track. He stayed pretty close to me all day, which I loved! He even asked me to carry him around several times throughout the day, I happily obliged. smile We sat together for supper tonight at small group and he mentioned for the second time that day that he was being very good today, I whole-heartedly agreed. In fact, I promised him I would email you tonight so you would know what a trooper he was all day.

I’m so proud of that boy.

We landed an hour earlier than scheduled, and got through customs and immigration in record time. The Holt driver was standing in line holding up a sign that said, “RIBAR”. It took us a few minutes to find him, but that’s mostly because we were so early that we weren’t expecting him, so we weren’t looking all that hard.

He drove us to our hotel, which is about an hour from the airport. I was amazed at how similar the airport, landscape, traffic, etc. is to Minnesota. It wasn’t that way at all on our Philippines trip, when we adopted Ezekiel! There was a large festival for Korean Thanksgiving near our hotel last night, but we were too tired to go see much of it.

We stayed up so that we could Skype with Ezekiel first thing Monday morning (Minnesota time). It was so good to see his sleepy face and his crazy-wild-Ezekiel hair. Then we had our first night’s “sleep”! Which consisted of waking up and feeling disoriented approximately 72 times. For me, at least. Dave slept like a rock star.

Today we will head down soon to eat some breakfast in the hotel, and chill out together in the room some more, getting things prepped and ready for our week. Then, my dad’s cousin and his wife are coming to our hotel and picking us up to go shopping around Insadong. I can’t wait to see them! We used to go to church with them when we lived in Wac-town, and really enjoy spending time with them. Having family here during our trip is a BIG bonus! Tonight, we are going on the Ongo Food Tour. I can’t wait for that one!

Saying goodbye to our oldest son (!) at the aiport.

Us waiting to board our ORD-ICN flight, the beautiful Korean flag we gazed at while waiting forever in the international security line, and that beautiful baby blue airplane we flew on!

Dave standing by some mugo pines outside of the ICN airport outside of Seoul. Mr Landscaper was PUMPED to check out the foliage here.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda McQuinn Carlblom
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 17:02:19

    I love reading these updates. You’re in our hearts and minds and prayers! Love you!

    Reply

  2. Felicity
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 17:26:28

    Love it love it LOVE IT!!

    Reply

  3. Mamasita
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 20:40:50

    I read the title of your post and I thought you had gotten sick…..this Nana needs to go to bed:) Day 1 was good. Eze and Gran had fun time at supper tonight. He then proceeded to use the iPad to take silly pictures of all of us. It was a good laugh for everyone.

    Reply

  4. Stacey Stevens
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 20:46:45

    Yay!! Glad to hear your trip out went smoothy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,772 hits
