Korea or Bust!!


Surprise of all surprises, we got our travel call today!!! Dave got the call, and then shared the happy news with me…

This morning we decided to keep Ezekiel home from school, since he had a dry, hacky cough. He didn’t have a temp. I went off to work, and Dave brought him out to rest at my parents’ house while Dave built raised garden beds for them. Mid-morning, I got a call from Dave. My heart nearly burst out of my chest when I saw his number. He was just calling to tell me that Ezekiel was not at all sick, and that he would be bringing him to school at lunchtime.

My heartbeat returned to normal, and I continued on with my work day (which, to be honest, has been distracted for the past few days. Thank God for an understanding boss). I ate lunch with two of my co-workers, staring at my phone every few minutes. I wasn’t expecting our phone call until next week, but just couldn’t stop checking it.

Dave called me at 12:59. I thought he was just calling to tell me he had gotten Ezekiel settled back in school. Our conversation went like this:

Me: Hello?
Dave: Hello, Dave here.
Me: (what a goofball. Of course I know it’s him) Hey honey.
Dave: You have officially received your travel call.
Me: What???? Are you kidding me? If this is a joke, that’s a really mean joke!
Dave: I would never joke about that! For real, we got the travel call, I just got off the phone with Lisa!!!

Oh my. I got off the phone with him after getting all the details and hopped around the office shouting, “I’m going to Korea!” My co-workers love me and my dorky, excitable ways. Thank goodness for that.

Because of the large number of families traveling to bring their children home, our agency asked us to wait until the week of the 1st to travel. We are okay with that. It gives us time to tie up loose ends, and prepare Ezekiel for us being gone (he is staying with my parents). My favorite part is that we will have Simon home by his birthday!!!!!!! We are waiting for the official approval of our itinerary from our agency, but it looks like we will be flying out Sept 30 and flying back Oct 7. Simon’s adoption day will be on either Oct 4th or 5th.

Today reminds me a lot of a special day almost 4 year ago. I am one happy mama today!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adah
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 20:39:51

    makes me cry! xo

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 21:32:50

    Yeah!!! We are so excited for you! We will be praying for you often in these next few weeks (and months). We love you guys so stinkin’ much!!

    Love, The D’Amours

    Reply

  3. Dee Bush
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 14:35:21

    Awesome news!!

    Reply

  4. renee
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 16:13:08

    Hurray!!!!!! So happy for you guys and for little Simon who will have the best birthday gift ever, a forever family!!!! I hppe that you will be blogging while you’re gone. Enjoy this super exciting time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,630 hits
