A Good Day


After hearing no news each time I called the Visa Processing Center in DC last week and this week, I had decided that I wasn’t going to call again until Friday. It just got me too down. Then, this morning one of my bloggy friends told me another family had received news of their son’s visa interview being scheduled. It was the only prompting I needed to call DC and check on Simon’s visa.

Dave was home, so I was hoping I could talk him into calling. He was on the phone, though, and I couldn’t wait another minute, so I dialed up the line and held my breath. I gave the woman on the other end of the line Simon’s SEO number, and waited. And waited. And waited. Their computers are slow. Suddenly she said, “Oh, he’s so handsome!” I immediately started crying. I knew that the fact they could see his picture in the system meant that our last step was complete. Simon’s visa interview is scheduled for 9/21 at 1 pm in Seoul. Which means our travel call can come anytime after that.

I’m in tears, I’m so happy that there is a 99% chance that Simon will be home by his birthday. A small part of me remains skeptical because I know things can still hold up the process. The ups and downs of adoption have a way of making me feel a bit of disbelief every step of the way.

Later in the morning, I checked the mailbox, and there was a packet of pictures in the mail of Simon! I had connected with a family last week through a random series of events, and it turns out her daughter and my son had the same foster family. She picked her daughter up last week, and had pictures of Simon! Then when she got home, she found that the foster mom had accidentally given her a roll of film of Simon. She mailed them to me, and I was so grateful to get them today!!!

My teeny tiny cheesemeister

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marla McIntyre
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 19:02:11

    So very awesome!! Tears for you myself! Love you all!!

    Reply

  2. Kylir
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 22:03:56

    So excited for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
