Kindergarten Kraziness


Today, Ezekiel started Kindergarten. My brave, resilient, perseverant little man took that next step toward independence. And, of course, our day wasn’t without adventures and lessons learned…

He woke up bright and early, telling me that he “didn’t sleep a wink last night!” (Although when Mama headed to bed, he was snoring and Darth Vader-breathing up a storm). He got to have a special breakfast of pop-tarts, although he didn’t eat much. Oh, and he got to wear his new shoes that have light-up light sabers (right for the red foot, blue for the left foot). Super exciting!

We walked down to the bus stop all together, and watched him get on Bus 5 without a backward glance at Mom and Dad. Dave and I quickly walked home and drove over to the school where we planned to meet him getting off the bus. We got to the playground where we were supposed to meet him, and waited. And waited. And waited. We realized after a few minutes that we should be seeing him, but weren’t, so Dave (who used to be a paraprofessional at the school) talked to one of his para buddies, and she got the bus service on the phone. In the meantime, I headed in to the school and mentioned to Eze’s teacher, and my mom (the EBD teacher at the elementary school) that Ezekiel hadn’t shown up yet.

I wandered around the school to see if Ezekiel happened to be in the cafeteria, or his classroom, or my mom’s room, but had no luck. I went back out to the playground and Dave told me that the bus driver had let him off at the Intermediate School. The school for 3rd-6th graders. (Because my kindergartener is so huge?!). They would be bringing him right over and I should meet him by the bus drop-off. What I didn’t realize was that they were dropping him off in a car, not his bus. I wandered all around trying to figure out where he was, and in the meantime he and the bus service manager ran into Dave.

Dave got him to his classroom, I still had no idea where they were, and of course had my ringer off. I chatted with a couple of friends, and then ran into my sister (who has a first-grader in the same school) who told me, “Dave has him! He wants you to get to his classroom”. I hurried over and when I saw Ezekiel, I felt relief flood through my body. I told him that I was so glad that he’d gotten to the right place, and that I was so proud of him for staying calm. He told me, “I wasn’t even scared at all, Mom!”

I picked him up from the after-school care program at school, and he exclaimed, “Kindergarten is so cool, Mom!!!” Again, relief flooded through my body. I’m so grateful for my resilient, brave boy. Of course, all of the teachers had heard about his adventures, and when we saw any of them as we walked out the door, they commented on what a brave boy he was for being on such a great adventure this morning.

It’s times like these that I wish with all my heart that his birth family could see what an amazing boy Ezekiel has become. He’s so smart. So loved. So persistent. So sparkly. So full of life.

First Day of Kindergarten!

The Bus.

Eze finally at his classroom and at his locker! Feeling nervous after the morning’s adventures.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mamasita
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 21:55:07

    I love the socks up to his knees and his sticky-up-colic!! What a wonderful, cute, little boy!! Love him to pieces!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,774 hits
