Mom Of The Year Award: FAIL


Today was just one of those super cruddy days. We get to a point every year where we are ready for the landscaping season to be over (even with my intense hatred for winter). It gets earlier and earlier each year. We are at that point. This year has been HARD. Dave has poured in so many hours to design landscapes and create estimates, but people haven’t been as eager to partake in Dave’s amazing landscaping skills this year. It’s getting him down. And I HATE seeing my favorite person down in the dumps.

Our day didn’t work out as planned. We had some documents we needed to have signed and notarized for Simon’s adoption, and our timing with each other just didn’t work out. We were both frustrated.

I carpooled home with my dad, and my mom had picked up Ezekiel from daycare. So Ezekiel and I went to my parents’ house for supper with our Bible study group, and Dave got some chill out time at home. Eze and I played together, and then we sat down for supper. He ate outside with the other kiddos, and complained that his stomach hurt each time I came out to check on him. He’s been using that excuse a lot lately, so I just asked him to eat what he could and then clear his plate.

About a half hour later, he told me he was starving for dessert. I told him I’d be happy to heat up the hotdog he hadn’t eaten, and he just scowled at me and stomped away. When it was time to go home, he was acting kind of whiny and rude. He complained again about his belly hurting, and I jokingly asked him if he wanted me to turn him upside down. He giggled and said “yeah”, so I complied. I set him back down and he walked over to my dad’s car. Before he could hop in, he sort of spit on the ground. Then he moaned, “oh no…” and threw up all of his supper while I held him around his chest so he didn’t fall forward.

Before Dave and I had kids, he promised that he’d be in charge of throw up because I really don’t handle the smell or sight of it well. Surprise surprise, the first time that Ezekiel really and truly throws up is when we’re not with Dave. Thank God it was outside, and didn’t get on me. Poor baby told me his nose smelled “wully bad”, so we blew it about 100 times, took a bath when we got home, and snuggled up together before bedtime.

What a day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Grimes Buchholz
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 21:09:08

    sounds like a winner of a mom to me!!! you did everything right my friend

    Reply

  2. Sisser
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 03:58:14

    I am so sad you had a crummy day, but MGB is right, you did everything right PLUS…. You made it through the puking all on your own! Way to go, Sisser! Is it odd that I am incredibly proud of you right now? I remember the first time I had to handle puke all on my own, it felt like an odd initiation into a club of which I wasn’t sure I wanted to be included.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,774 hits
