Scared. Excited. Nervous. Elated.


Those are some of the feelings flying around at mustang speed around my heart and belly right now. Each week I see more and more people getting their travel calls from the group before us. It’s looking more and more like we’ll be traveling in September. My stomach aches most evenings when I think about it, and my heart flutters like crazy when I talk about it at work.

And like I mentioned in my last post, there are a few other things going on in our lives too…

– August 31: Our current renters move out of our townhouse up in Wac-town (45 minutes away from our house).
– Labor Day weekend: We’ll spend the weekend cleaning/fixing/replacing/building a doorway/whatever else comes up in the rental.
– September 4: Our conference with Ezekiel’s kindergarten teacher (!!!)
– September 6: Ezekiel’s first day of kindergarten (!!!)
– September 7-9: Finish cleaning and doing whatever is needed at the townhouse.
– September 14: Our ten-year anniversary (we thought we’d be taking a trip to our honeymoon spot, but now we’ll be saving up to celebrate in Seoul!) (How did we get here? 10 years???).
– September 15: Our new renter moves into the townhouse.

I’m predicting we’ll get our travel call smack dab in the middle of all of that. Because God has a sense of humor like that. This has been the best accidental weight loss plan I’ve ever been on!

Dave and Eze are spending this weekend up north with his family. I am spending the weekend at home. I know it’ll be my last weekend at home by myself for a long time, so I plan to enjoy my weekend thoroughly! I have school shopping, Korea shopping, and Cost.co shopping to do, peaches to can, books to read, friends (and family – my gran, brother and sister-in-law!) to meet up with, naps to take, and yoga to calm me.

After this weekend, I think I’ll feel more ready to bring Simon home. We still have some prayers:

1. That we are able to save up the rest of the money we need for the travel expenses and post-adoption expenses.

2. That our rental turnover doesn’t produce any major expenses.

3. That Ezekiel’s and Simon’s (and our) hearts will be prepared to become a family.

Ezekiel was the perfect test subject for the new baby carrier I bought for Simon. Eze still has ten pounds to go before he is too big for it. I can’t wait to “ah boo bah” Simon (hold him on my back).

My little big boy riding the fun slide at the county fair last weekend!

So big!

On the way to a wedding last Saturday. I love this bearded man.

Best big brother ever.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vonda
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 23:33:15

    Silence.
    Inadequate.
    Humbled.
    Speechless.
    I will settle for this: I am deeply moved to watch, listen & pray during these profound years of your journeys. Bless you for letting us be part of it.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 06:32:16

    Kindergarten! I hope Eze has a wonderful year in school 🙂 After speaking with our agency yesterday, we got an estimated travel date and I know EXACTLY how you feel – last minute things to get done, places to be, and all the rest of it. I am surely keeping you and your family for all of your prayer requests.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,630 hits
