Godspeed


When we were waiting to bring Ezekiel home from the Philippines, there was one song that stuck with me, and would bring me to tears as I sat and prayed for Ezekiel and waited to bring him home. It was “Lullaby” by the Dixie.Chicks. I would sing it often, and had it memorized by the time we finally traveled to the Philippines. When we got into the taxi cab after receiving custody of him at the orphanage, I sang that song to him while he laid on my chest.

.

When we look at that picture, he still tells me it’s one of his favorites. It is one of mine too. Every night for the first couple of years he was home, I would sing that song to him while I lotioned him up and put his jammies on. He knows that it is our special song, and though I don’t sing it to him as often anymore, he’ll give me a huge grin and snuggle into my arms if I start to sing it.

I’d been thinking ever since we began the adventure to adopt Simon about what song would be my special song for him. And yet again, it’s a Dixie.Chicks song that strikes me as the right one for him. The song is “Godspeed (Sweet Dreams)”. I love the whole song, but during this wait, I’ve really liked these words…

God bless mommy and match box cars
God bless dad and thanks for the stars
God hears Amen wherever we are
And I love you

Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh, my love will fly to you
Each night on angel’s wings
Godspeed, sweet dreams

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 14:37:40

    I haven’t heard that song yet, but I will have to look for it. The lyrics made me tear up. You’re right – they are absolutely perfect.

    Ours is “I See The Moon.” – “I see the moon, the moon sees me, the moon sees somebody I want to see; so God bless the moon, and God bless me, and God bless the somebody I want to see.”

    Hoping your singing that song to Simon sooner than you can imagine, Rachel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,735 hits
