Mmmmmm


This weekend has been one of those weekends where my heart goes, “Mmmmmm…”. Friday night was warm, so we ate our supper in our neighbor’s 3-season porch with them. Saturday morning we biked over to a pancake breakfast and played on the playground afterward. Biking across town helped me realize just how out of shape I’d gotten since last summer when we biked/walked everywhere all summer long. Saturday afternoon we went to a St Patrick’s parade in town (which was PACKED with people), then had our friendy poos, Jon and Suze, over for some supper and games.

Today Neighbor Heidi and I pushed each other to do a 5-mile run. We beat our time last weekend by 10 minutes. Yay! Although, I’m trying my hardest not to be so competitive with myself. It’s how I tend to hurt myself running. I think I’ll plan to run the 8k on the 4th of July this year. It’s fun and motivating to have a goal. Especially after having spent the winter not working out consistently.

On the Simon front, we did get some good news. We are choosing to celebrate this resevedly, as we know adoption processes can change quickly. But we received news from our agency that families who submitted their paperwork before December 2011 will travel to bring their child home in 2012. We are an October 2011 family. While I’m sad knowing there are families and children who will not be united this year, I’m feeling tentatively hopeful that we will have our family of four together by Christmas this year.

Still no pictures. No camera 😦 I need to decide soon if I just want to buy a phone with a better camera already on it, and invest in a nice digital SLR. Or if I should just stick with buying another point-and-shoot that I can stick in my purse. This is the kind of thing I’m very indecisive about.

I’ll leave you with the latest Ezekielism: This morning he came into our room at 7:06, announcing that there was a 7 on his “cwock” (he is not allowed to get out of bed until there is a 7 on his clock). Dave mumbled our typical “S-day” response, “You can play in the living room or your bedroom, but Mommy and Daddy are going to keep sleeping” (LOVE this age, eating it up before a toddler joins our family again and we have to be up with the kiddos). A few minutes later, I heard him walk back into our room with flip flops on. He had just been complaining yesterday that he didn’t know how to make the “flip flop noise” with his sandals. So this morning I mumbled asked him if he was practicing his flipping and flopping. He exclaimed, “I think I’ve got it down, Mom!”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: A Sort-of Update « Brown ~ Blonde ~ Black ~ Brindle

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,630 hits
