Three Years


How is it possible that three years have flown by this quickly? Three years ago at this very moment, Dave and I were meeting Ezekiel at the orphanage in the Philippines. We’ve gone from meeting a little boy who did not like us AT ALL, to a little boy who is madly in love with us, lives life to the fullest, and is one of the brightest boys I know. Each time I tell him stories about his adoption, he just can’t believe that he didn’t like us. That he was an angry little boy. It’s just so opposite of what he is now. It’s amazing what lots of love, good food, love, boundaries, love, and consistency will do for a kid!

I got home from work and an evening out with friends, and Ezekiel ran over to me when I was in the kitchen. He started talking really fast about the plans for his Adoption Day that we’ll celebrate tomorrow (even though we met him Dec 14th US time, we celebrate it on the 15th since it was the 15th in the Philippines when we met him). He is pumped to eat Outrageous Garlic Soup, cupcakes and (his favorite part, he so informed me tonight) for “Mommy and Daddy to sing ‘Happy Adoption Day to you, Happy Adoption Day to you…'”.

I love that he is just as excited about celebrating his Adoption Day as we are each year. This weekend when we were spending time with my family, he said at one point, “I’m so glad I adopted you, Mommy”. Be still my heart. I love how true that is. We adopted each other and taught each other how to live, love, laugh.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 06:34:32

    Happy adoption day to a wonderful family! Three years already – wow!

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 06:57:32

    And we are so happy that he adopted you and the rest of the family. Our family is better because of Mr. Ezekiel! Love you lots,

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Brown ~ Blonde ~ Black ~ Brindle

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,774 hits
